Side with Love and Love Resists presents:

Unfinished Business: A Study of DuBois’ Reconstruction in America to Now
4 Wednesdays: June 10, June 17, July 1 and July 8This political education series offered by Side With Love and Love Resists will explore the history of the reconstruction era (post-civil war), to give us a deeper understanding of the origin of today’s systemic racism in policing and mass incarceration as well as the Black-led movements resisting it. In this pivotal protest moment sparked by the law-enforcement-linked murders of George Floyd, Amaud Ahmery, Breonna Taylor, and Tony McDade – only the most recent Black lives to be lost to police violence – we’ll learn from the past to be ready for today, and to build towards the world we dream of.

We’ll be using the 4-part documentary “Reconstruction: America After the Civil War” narrated by Henry Louis Gates Jr. as a starting point for reflection, discussion, spiritual grounding in UU values, and action.

The political education group will begin each Wednesday at 5 pm PT/8 pm ET and you can join an hour earlier (4 pm PT/7 pm ET) to watch the film together, or you can watch on your own any time ahead of the discussion group. Sign up to participate as an individual, or with a group.

Register here for zoom call-in information and more details about the program. While this offering is free, we encourage donations to your local Black Lives Matter chapter or any of the organizations listed here, recommended by Reclaim the Block in Minneapolis. 

PS: If you weren’t able to join us last night for #WeCantBreath: a prayer vigil, the recording is available on YouTube.
 

DONATE